Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee today won  Bhawanipur Assembly seat in the bypoll for the third term defeating Priyanka Tibrewal of BJP by a margin of 58,832 votes.

Mamta Banerjee, who lost to BJPs Suvendu Adhikari in 2021 Assembly election from Nandigram has made a hattrick from Bhawanipur.

Mamta Banerjee who took her oath as the Chief Minister for the third time in May 2021 had to win any Assembly seat within six months as  mandatory procedure.

It was Shobhandev Chattopadhyay who vacated
Bhawanipur Assembly seat for Mamta Banerjee to carry on her third term as Chief Minister.

In 2011 Mamta Banerjee had won this seat in 
the by-election defeating Nandini Mukherjee of CPI(M) by  54,213 votes. She was re-elected from here in 2016 by defeating Deepa Dasmunsi of Congress by 25,301 votes.

Mamta Banerjee had joined Congress in the decade of seventies . She won the Lok Sabha election in 1984 from Jadavpur Parliamentary Constituency, defeating Somnath Chatterjee of the CPI(M). She lost this seat to Malini Bhattacharya of the CPI(M) in 1989 but retrieved it in 1991. At that time the seat was established as Calcutta South Parliamentary Constituency. She again won the seat in 1996. Later she quit Congress and floated All India Trinamool Congress popular as TMC and won from here in 
1998, 1999, 2004 and 2009 General Elections.

Bhawanipur seat formed in 2012 after delimitation has been a strong hold of TMC. The residence of Mamta Banerjee in Kali ghar falls under this constituency.