Several names including Tariq Anwar among seasoned politicians doing rounds

Tathagat Harshvardhan, Dhananjay Sharma, Kanahiya Kumar,Poonam Paswan are much talked names among the young leaders

Patna:  Amid news of resignation of Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee ( BPCC) President Madan Mohan Jha, the hunt for the new incumbent is on war footing.

The central leadership of Congress was minutely reviewing the names for the post . Party insider in New Delhi said that the party was looking for a candidate capable of reviving Congress and can be an acceptable face in the GrandAlliance.

According to the sourc of the names among the senior leaders including Tariq Anwar, Rajesh Ram ,Premchand Mishra ,Sameer Singh, Shyamsundar Singh Dhiraj ,Meira Kumar ,Tariq Anwar as of now emerged as the most suitable leader for the post.

Among young generation the names doing rounds include Kanhaiya Kumar, Tathagat Harshvardhan district president if Buxar, Dhananjay Sharma party district president of Arwal and former MLA Poonam Paswan.

The sources however maintained that even after being fire brand out spoken former CPI leader Kanhaiya Kumar, ex president of JNU Students Union apparently was not at all suitable for the coveted post. The sources said that Kanhaiya Kumar is also not well versed with the Congress culture.

Regarding Dhananjay Sharma, the party insider said that the soft spoken and well behaved young leader is popular among the the Salute, Minorities and Upper caste. He has made remarkable achievements at a young stage especially in Arwal district where he has revived Congress and has constructed a massive Shri Krishna Ashram on the land that was purchased in 1936 by the Congress. Several senior leaders could not succeed in the uphill task.

By his hard work, Dhananjay Sharma expanded the party in Arwal. Inspired by his political acumen, large number of local people joined the party. He also roped in the traditional Congress voters of the area who were maintaining a distance from the party since 1952.

By the virtue of his capacity to  manage a balance between the Daliye, OBC, Upper Caste and new as well as young generation leaders, Dhananjay Sharma was maintaining an edge over other young leaders. 

Following is commitment towards Congress the party sent him to the Uttar Pradesh during the Assembly Elections where he tried to bring back the minorities in the party fold.

Exhibiting his commitment towards Congress and Rahul Gandhi, Dhananjay Sharma even after his close proximity with the then BPCC president Ashok Choudhary, preferred to remain within the Congress at the time when Ashok Choudhary had left the party.

The sources said that apart from name of Dhananjay Sharma the party was also pondering over the names of Tathagat Harshvardhan and Poonam Sharma for the post.

According to the source the new incumbent would be finalised shortly by the central leadership.

Earlier Madan Mohan Jha whose term expired in September last year, recently called on Rahul Gandhi in New Delhi. After his appointment in 
September 2018, replacing working president Kaukab Quadri, Jha could not get the party back on track. Congresss performance was not up to the mark under the regime of Jha as it hardly won 19 seats out of 70 it had contested in the last assembly election. Similarly the party won only one seat out of 24 in the recently concluded Legislative Council elections.

The party has not had a full-strength working committee since Ashok Kumar Choudhary, the current state construction minister, was removed as state Congress president in September 2017.