Mumbai: The Seven-day #Millets Food Festival of the member countries of Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is going on at Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai where chefs from member countries were showcasing their millet cuisines.

In the festival, people can savour a variety of cuisines made of different millets prepared by chefs from #Kazakhstan, #Kyrgyzstan #Uzbekistan, #Russia and #India for lunch and dinner at Shamiana Restaurant at the hotel till April 19.

The seven-day festival, being organised by the Union Tourism Ministry to commemorate the International Year of Millets (IYM 2023). The food festival features various organic meals made with millets that have been hand-selected by the SCO Member Chefs.

While inaugurating the festival, the Union Minister of State for #Tourism Shripad Naik said that the SCO countries had an exceptional mix of cultures and traditions, which are aptly reflected in their cuisines. “The cuisines of the SCO countries will offer unique delights to the food lovers. The United Nations declared the year 2023 as the International Year of Millets with a motto of increasing the production and consumption of millets worldwide. The idea behind it is to promote millets as they are climate resilient,” he said and added that millet consumption can help the world meet at least six UN-mandated sustainable development goals. This is a smart move towards sustainable development, he said.

Spearheaded by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Government of India sponsored the proposal for IYM 2023 which was accepted by the United Nations General Assembly. The declaration has been instrumental for India to be at the forefront in celebrating the IYM. The Prime Minister has also shared his vision to make IYM 2023 a ‘People’s Movement’ alongside positioning India as the ‘Global Hub for Millets’, the minister said.

He also congratulated Kazakhstan for the next SCO Presidency and assured that India would continue its efforts to make tourism a successful sector in the SCO region.

The SCO is an intergovernmental organization comprising eight member states - China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan, four Observer States and 14 Dialogue Partners.