Names of 9 candidates declared

New Delhi: The Nationalist Congress Party ( NCP) on Friday released the first list of its candidates for nine assembly constituencies in Karnataka where elections are scheduled to be held on May 10.

NCP Permanent Secretary and Member Working Committee S. R. Kohli said here that the candidates have been decided after discussing minute details during various meetings within the party.

According to him Uttam Raosaheb Patil has been fielded from Nipani assembly seat, Mansour Saheb Bilagi would be contesting from Devar Hippargi, Zameer Ahmad Inamdar has thrown his hats from Baswan Bagewadi, Kulappa Chavan is in the first from Nagthan ( Sc), Shri Han R is trying his political fate from Yelburga, former Minister and firmer MLC R. Shankar will be contesting the electoral battle from Ranebennur, Suguna K from Hagri Bommanananli (Sc), Y.M.Masood Foujdar from Virajpet and Rehana Bano from Narsimharaja assembly constituency.

Meanwhile NCP National Media Convenor Navin Kumar said here that as decided by the Party National Chief Sharad Pawar, the party would be contesting nearly 40 to 45 seats of the 224 seats of Karnataka assembly.

He said that the party has chalked out its strategies for contesting the assembly elections in Karnataka. Rallies would be held in the poll bound state, he said adding that the Party chief would be addressing the rallies. To ensure the unity of Marathi-speaking people in Karnataka, the party was mulling over contesting six to seven seats in the bordering areas, Prof. Kumar informed, quoting Mr Pawar.

Meanwhile political pundits opine that with an aim to restore its national status, the NCP decided to enter into the poll fray in Karnataka at its own and was trying to contest on maximum number of seats. According to the political pundits the decision of the NCP to contest all the upcoming assembly elections were aimed at restoring its national status.

It may be recalled that the ECI on April 10 withdrew the ‘national party’ tag of the NCP for its failure to meet the eligibility criteria required to keep the same.