JD( U) too announces the names of its candidates

Patna: Bhartiya Janta Party ( BJP)  and Janta Dal ( U) , the alliance partners of National Democratic Alliance ( NDA) have declared their candidates for the Biennial Elections to Bihar Legislative Council from 24 Local Authorities Constituencies slated on April 4.

Of the 24 seats ,the BJP is contesting on 12 seats whereas JD( U) on 11. The BJP has left one seat for Lok Janshakti Party ( LJP)  belonging to the Union Minister Pashupati Kumar Paras faction which would be throwing its hat from Vaishali seat.

After hectic parleys both at central and local level, the BJP declared the names. It has fielded -

 Rajnish Kumar from Begusarai 

Santosh Kumar from Rohtas- Kaimur

Sunil Choudhary from Darbhanga

Bablu Gupta from East Champaran

Dilip Singh from Aurangabad

Tarun Kumar from Samastipur

Dr Dilip Jayaswal from Kishanganj

Ashok Agrawal from Katihar

Nutan Singh from Saharsa

Aditya Narayan Pandey from Gopalganj 

Sachhidanand Rai from Saran and

Manoj Singh from Siwan.

Similarly JD( U) has fielded -

Valmiki Singh from Patna

Reena Devi from Nalanda

Manorma Devi from Gaya -Jahanabad -Arwal  

Salman Raghib from  Nawada

Radha Charan Sah from Bhojpur- Buxar

Rajesh Ram from West Champaran

Dinesh Kumar Singh from Muzaffarpur

Rekha Kumari from Sitamarhi- Sheohar

Sanjay Prasad from

Vijay Kumar Singh from Bhagalpur-Banka and

Vinod Kumar Singh from Madhubani.

A fissure was visible in the Grand Alliance following announcement of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Congress for contesting the biennial elections at their own. The RJD has fielded its candidates on 23 seats whereas Congress so far has declared its 8 candidates for the election.

 Notification for the election would be issued on  March 9 and nominations can be filed till March 16. The scrutiny of nominations would take place on March 17 and the candidates can withdraw their nomination by March 21.Polling would take place on April 4 and the counting of votes would be held on  April 7.

The sources said that 24 seats of the state legislative council fell vacant as term of 19 the members expired on July 16 last year whereas three members got elected to the state assembly and two members passed away in July 2020.

Rit Lal Ray from Patna , Dilip Ray from Sitamarhi-Sheohar and Manoj Yadav from Bhagalpur-Banka were elected to the state assembly flowing which their seats were vacant since November 2020.

Darbhanga and Samastipur seats were vacant since July 2020 due to the demise of Sunil Kumar Singh sitting member from Darbhanga and Hari Narayan Chaudhary from Samastipur.