Elected uncontested after resignation of Vijay Kumar Sinha

Patna: RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Choudhary is now new Speaker of Bihar Legislative Assembly.

He has been elected to the post unopposed.

Deputy Speaker Maheshwar Hajari made the announcement in the Lower House on Friday.

After his uncontested election, Mr Choudhary took the charges from Mr Hajari.

Congratulating the new Speaker, Bihar chief Minister Nitish Kumar expressed confidence that Choudhary will provide equal opportunity to every faction.

The newly appointed leader of opposition in the state assembly and former Bihar assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha said that the opposition members too had faith that the new speaker would be impartial and maintain the dignity and sanctity of the House.

Meanwhile RJD MLC Ramchandra Purvey was also elected uncontested Deputy Chairman of Bihar Legislative Council on Friday.